We are proud to host the following keynote speakers at WSA 2019:

Prof. André L. F. de Almeida
Wireless Telecom Research Group
Department of Teleinformatics Engineering
Federal University of Ceará


Keynote title: A Tensor Perspective on Large-Scale MIMO Array Processing

Prof. Ana Isabel Pérez-Neira
Signal Theory and Communication Department
Technical University of Catalonia
Associate Researcher of CTTC


Keynote title: Spatial Signal Processing in Satellite Communications: massive MIMO in mmwave?

Mehdi Bennis, Associate Professor
Centre for Wireless Communications, University of Oulu
Academy of Finland Research Fellow
Kvantum Institute, University of Oulu, Finland


Keynote title: Ultra-reliable and Low-latency communication: Research Challenges and The Road Ahead


André L. F. de Almeida received the B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees in electrical engineering from the Federal University of Ceará, Brazil, in 2001 and 2003, respectively, and the double Ph.D. degree in Sciences and Teleinformatics Engineering from the University of Nice, Sophia-Antipolis, France, and the Federal University of Ceará, Brazil, in 2007. He is currently an Associate Professor with the Department of Teleinformatics Engineering of the Federal University of Ceará. During fall 2002, he was a visiting researcher at Ericsson Research Labs, Stockholm, Sweden. From 2007 to 2008, he held a teaching position at University of Nice Sophia-Antipolis, France. During 2012, 2013, 2018 he was awarded Visiting Professor positions at the University of Nice Sophia-Antipolis, France. He has served as an Associate Editor for several journals, such as the IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, the IEEE Signal Processing Letters, the Wireless Commnunications and Mobile Computing, and a Guest Editor of the EURASIP Journal of Advances in Signal Processing. He is a member of the Sensor Array and Multichannel (SAM) Technical Committee of the IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS) and a member of the EURASIP Signal Processing for Multi-Sensor Systems Special Area Team (SPMuS SAT). He was the General Co-chair of the IEEE CAMSAP’2017, the Technical Co-chair of the Symposium on „Tensor Methods for Signal Processing and Machine Learning” at GlobalSIP’2018, and currently serves as the Technical Co-Chair of IEEE SAM’2020, Hangzhou, China. He is a research fellow of the CNPq (The Brazilian National Council for Scientific and Technological Development) and an Affiliate Member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences. His current research interests include blind/semi-blind techniques, tensor-based signal processing, and multilinear algebra with applications to multiantenna communications and big data processing.


Ana I. Pérez-Neira is full professor at UPC (Technical University of Catalonia) in the Signal Theory and Communication department. Her research topic is signal processing for communications and currently she is working in multi-antenna and multicarrier signal processing, both, for satellite communications and wireless systems. She has been in the board of directors of ETSETB (Telecom Barcelona) from 2000-03 and Vicerector for Research at UPC (2010-13). She created UPC Doctoral School (2011). Currently, she is Scientific Coordinator at CTTC (Centre Tecnològic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya), where she is fellow researcher. From 2008-2016 she has been member of EURASIP BoD (European Signal Processing Association), from 2010-2016 member of IEEE SPTM (Signal Processing Theory and Methods) and at 2016 she has been elected SPS Regional Director-at-Large for 2 years. She is the coordinator of the European project SANSA and of the Network of Excellence on satellite communications, financed by the European Space Agency: SatnexIV. She has been the leader of 20 projects and has participated in over 50 (10 for European Space Agency). She is author of 50 journal papers (20 related with Satcom) and more than 200 conference papers (20 invited). She is co-author of 4 books and 5 patents (one on satcom). She has been guest editor in 5 special issues and associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing and EURASIP Advances in Signal Processing. Currently she is editor of Eurasip Signal Processing. She has been the general chairman of IWCLD’09, EUSIPC’11, EW’14, IWSCS’14 and ASMS/SPSC’16. She is IEEE Director-at-large for Region 8 of the Signal Processing Society. She is recipient for the 2018 EURASIP Society Award. She is the general chair of IEEE ICASSP’20.


Mehdi Bennis (S’07, AM’08, SM’15) received his M.Sc. degree in electrical engineering jointly from EPFL, Switzerland, and the Eurecom Institute, France, in 2002. He obtained his Ph.D. from the University of Oulu in December 2009 on spectrum sharing for future mobile cellular systems. Currently he is an associate professor at the University of Oulu and an Academy of Finland research fellow. His main research interests are in radio resource management, heterogeneous networks, game theory, and machine learning in 5G networks and beyond. He has co-authored one book and published more than 200 research papers in international conferences, journals, and book chapters. He was the recipient of the prestigious 2015 Fred W. Ellersick Prize from the IEEE Communications Society, the 2016 Best Tutorial Prize from the IEEE Communications Society, the 2017 EURASIP Best Paper Award for the Journal of Wireless Communications and Networks, and the 2017 all-University of Oulu research award.